Gifford High School - Originally Bulawayo Technical School, then Gifford Technical High School (GTHS) - A brief history

The school was founded in 1927 as the Bulawayo Technical School led by Mr Philip Henry Gifford and four teachers, with an enrolment of 39 pupils. Gifford High School is a government-owned boys-only high school in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe.

1927 - Bulawayo Technical School Established, Philip Henry Gifford appointed Headmaster
1929 - The new School building was opened
1931 - High School status achieved, Founder of the Old Technicians’ Association
1933 - Beit Hall was presented by the Trust
1947 - Henry John Sutherby appointed Headmaster
1953 - Andrew Hart appointed Headmaster, move to Matopos Road opposite to the Zimbabwe International Trade Fair (ZITF) Showgrounds
1961 - Donald Robert White appointed Headmaster, The Bulawayo Technical School becomes Gifford Technical High School (GTHS)
1962 - Philip Henry Gifford dies,
1967 - Ivor John McLachlan appointed Headmaster
1974 - Harry Fincham appointed Headmaster, McLachlan Pool named in honour of Headmaster Ivor John McLachlan
1974 - School renamed Gifford High School a result of its change to a comprehensive high school offering the same range of subjects as other high schools.
1976 - Old South Field renamed the Sutherby Field in honour of Headmaster Henry John Sutherby. Andrew Hart Field named in honour of Headmaster Andrew Hart
1977 - Jubilee celebrations (50th Anniversary)
1983 - Anthony Menne appointed Headmaster
2003 - Siziba appointed Headmaster
2006 - Moyo appointed Headmaster
2009 - J.T. Nzima appointed Headmaster
2015 - Harry Fincham, former headmaster, dies in Brisbane, Australia.

The School’s colours are maroon and silver, and the motto is Hinc Orior meaning “from here I arise”, or, more freely, “from these beginnings my formed mind springs.” These colours were registered in 1957.